1. Health

Updated Articles and Resources

By Lisa Fayed

Updated Articles and Resources
  • Top 9 Cervical Cancer Myths Created: Wednesday, November 28, 2007 Updated: Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Separate fact from fiction -- learn the truth behind the top myths about cervical cancer.
  • 7 Questions to Ask When Diagnosed with Cervical Cancer Created: Sunday, August 12, 2007 Updated: Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Here are seven important questions women should ask their doctor after being diagnosed with cervical cancer.
  • Common Pap Smear Mistakes Created: Thursday, February 07, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, August 26, 2014
    Certain things can interfere with how accurate the results of your Pap smear may be. Get wise to common mistakes women make when it comes to Pap smears so you can ensure the best results.
  • Cervical Cancer Prevention Created: Tuesday, July 10, 2007 Updated: Monday, August 25, 2014
    Cervical cancer prevention should be a top priority for all women! Check out these ways to reduce your risk of cervical cancer.
  • Cervical Cancer Treatment Options Created: Sunday, July 15, 2007 Updated: Monday, August 25, 2014
    Several cervical cancer treatment options are available today, including surgery, chemotherapy and radiation. Find out which treatment is best, when.
  • Your First Pap Smear - What to Expect Created: Monday, August 06, 2007 Updated: Monday, August 25, 2014
    A Pap smear is a screening test used to detect precancerous cells and cervical cancer in women. Learn what to expect during a Pap smear.
  • Cervical Cancer 101 Created: Thursday, July 05, 2007 Updated: Monday, August 25, 2014
    Cervical cancer is a disease that affects the cervix in the female reproductive system. Explore what cervical cancer is, symptoms and treatment, and the basics of the disease.
  • What do genital warts look like? Created: Sunday, May 04, 2008 Updated: Monday, August 25, 2014
    What do genital warts look like? See what genital warts look like in these genital wart photos.
  • ASCUS Pap Smear Results Created: Tuesday, October 16, 2007 Updated: Monday, August 11, 2014
    An ASCUS Pap smear is a common result to the Pap test. Explore what an ASCUS Pap means and how it relates to cervical cancer.
  • Cervical Os Created: Sunday, April 13, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    Definition of cervical os, an anatomical medical term.
  • LGSIL Pap Smear Result Created: Sunday, April 06, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, July 02, 2014
    Read more about LGSIL Pap smear results, an abnormal type of Pap smear result." itemprop="description"> Saturday, April 26, 2008 Updated: Monday, June 30, 2014
    Can you get a colposcopy exam during your period? Learn more in the FAQ from a reader who asks if she should get a coposcopy exam during her period.
  • HPV Risk in Lesbian Relationships Created: Sunday, February 03, 2008 Updated: Friday, June 27, 2014
    Should lesbians worry about HPV? Learn more about how HPV can affect women in lesbian relationships." itemprop="description"> Sunday, January 27, 2008 Updated: Friday, June 27, 2014
    Medical definition of endocervical curettage, commonly known as an ECC in gynecology.
  • Transformation Zone Created: Tuesday, August 07, 2007 Updated: Friday, June 27, 2014
    Medical definition of 'transformation zone,' a term related to the cervix.
  • Caring for Your Hair and Scalp During Chemotherapy Created: Friday, August 17, 2007 Updated: Saturday, June 21, 2014
    Chemotherapy induced hair loss is common during treatment. Learn how to protect your scalp and thinning hair throughout treatment." itemprop="description">...
  • Pap Smear During Pregnancy - Is It Safe? Created: Tuesday, May 06, 2008 Updated: Thursday, June 19, 2014
    Is it safe to have a Pap smear while pregnant? Learn the importance of having a Pap smear during pregnancy for both the baby and the Mother.
  • Pregnancy and the HPV Vaccine: Is It Safe? Created: Thursday, January 03, 2008 Updated: Thursday, June 19, 2014
    It is not recommended that pregnant women receive the HPV vaccine, Gardasil. No well-controlled research studies have been performed in pregnant humans.
  • What is the Cervix? Created: Sunday, August 05, 2007 Updated: Wednesday, June 18, 2014
    Learn more about the function and purpose of the cervix in relation to cervical cancer." itemprop="description"> Sunday, May 18, 2008 Updated: Sunday, June 15, 2014
    Want to get the Gardasil vaccine but can't afford it? There is hope! Check out these programs that help women get the Gardasil HPV vaccine for free or at a reduced cost." i--#if expr="$zTP='t3'" --...
  • Genital Warts 101 Created: Monday, January 07, 2008 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
    Learn more about the strain of HPV known to cause genital warts in men and women. What genital warts look like and how they are diagnosed is discussed." itemprop="descript't3'" --> itemprop="descr...
  • Cervical Dysplasia Treatment Created: Tuesday, August 14, 2007 Updated: Friday, June 13, 2014
    Several treatment methods are available for cervical dysplasia. Discover what options are available to treat cervical dysplasia." itemprop="description">
  • What is a Pap Smear? Created: Wednesday, March 19, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, June 11, 2014
    Discover what a Pap smear is and why it is necessary for all women to have one done regularly." itemprop="description"> Tuesday, August 07, 2007 Updated: Tuesday, June 10, 2014
    A colposcopy is a follow-up procedure for abnormal Pap smears. Learn why a oolposcopy is performed, what to expect, and more about colposcopy results." itemprop="descriptio3'" --> itemprop="descrip...
  • Cervical Cancer Diagnosis Created: Monday, July 09, 2007 Updated: Monday, June 09, 2014
    Diagnosing cervical cancer involves a series of exams and medical tests. From cervical cancer symptoms to cervical cancer stages, here you will find out the process in diagnosing cervical cancer."<...
  • High Grade Dysplasia Created: Wednesday, April 09, 2008 Updated: Wednesday, June 04, 2014
    HGSIL Pap smear results mean high grade dysplasia. HGSIL is just one type of dysplasia. Though it is not cervical cancer, it can lead to cervical cancer when left untreated and unmonitored. Learn ...
  • Pregnancy After LEEP Created: Saturday, January 19, 2008 Updated: Tuesday, June 03, 2014
    A LEEP is procedure done to treat high grade cervical dysplasia. Women who have had LEEPs are often concerned about how it will affect future pregnancies. Discover how having a LEEP will affect pre...
  • HPV Symptoms Created: Monday, September 17, 2007 Updated: Monday, June 02, 2014
    Learn about the most common HPV symptoms, and what to look for when HPV doesn't produce any symptoms." itemprop="description"> Monday, January 14, 2008 Updated: Monday, June 02, 2014
    Abnormal vaginal bleeding a common symptom to many types of conditions and diseases. Could it be a symptom of cervical cancer?" itemprop="description">ption">
  • Cervical Cancer Symptoms Created: Thursday, July 05, 2007 Updated: Monday, June 02, 2014
    Cervical cancer rarely has symptoms in the earlier stages. As the disease progresses, cervical cancer symptoms begin to appear. Explore the signs and symptoms of cervical cancer."
  • Can You Get a Pap Smear if You are on Your Period? Created: Tuesday, March 25, 2008 Updated: Thursday, May 29, 2014
    Can you get a pap smear if you are on your period? Find out more in this FAQ about having a Pap smear while menstruating.
  • Free and Low Cost Pap Smears Created: Monday, August 13, 2007 Updated: Tuesday, May 27, 2014
    A Pap smear is a vital test for optimum health care. For some women, the Pap smear is added expense that cannot be afforded. Financial difficulties and lack of insurance are often the reason why wo...

©2014 About.com. All rights reserved.